MTBA - 2017 Cyclo-Cross National Series - Logo - Landscape



Date: Saturday 20th August 2016

Location: Adelaide Parklands, South Australia

Host Club: Port Adelaide Cycling Club     |     Club Website     |     Club Facebook Page



Online Registrations for the 2016/2017 Cyclo-Cross National Championships have now closed.



Click here to download the Cyclo-Cross National Season Guidelines (Version 4.0 | 28 July 2016)



Click here to download the Port Adelaide Cycling Club Event Technical Guide (Version 3.0 | 18 August 2016)



Click here to view the National Championship confirmed entrants list.
** Finalised start lists will be published at the venue on competition day.



800-930am Course Set up

930-130pm Registration Desk Open 

1000-1100am Course Inspection/Warm Up Session

1100-1145am RACE 1 Masters Men 5, 6, 7+

Masters Women 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7+

Expert Women 

1150-1240pm RACE 2 Masters Men 1-4 

Expert Men 

1245-1315pm Race 3 Junior 15 (2laps); Junior 17 (3laps)

1315-1345pm Open Course for Race 4 and 5 Competitors only

1345-1440pm Race 4 Elite/Under 23/Under 19 Women 

1440-1540pm Race 5 Elite/Under 23/Under 19 Men





(@Russ Baker)



Media Release

Mountain Bike Australia (MTBA) have finalised the dates and locations for the Cyclocross National Series and National Championships for 2016.

MTBA President Russ Baker thanked the clubs and promoters for their support of the season.

“In addition to providing top-level competition for our riders, cyclocross is an exciting way for all Australians to see this sport in the major cities and get the sport more exposure.   Thanks to you all who have been involved in getting this season off the ground.”

The five round series will begin in Queensland on the 2nd of July with “D’Aguilar Range Cycling Club” hosting the double header at Moreton Bay.

Club President Hayden Lester said they’re excited to support the continued growth of CX in Australia and south-east Queensland.

“We are building this event on the great local level racing we already enjoy and hope to welcome riders from across the country into the Moreton Bay Region.”

“Our course will showcase a number of off-camber sections, paved and open field to keep both spectators and riders on the edge of their seats.”

Racing then heads to Victoria where “Fields of Joy Cyclocross Club” will welcome riders for Rounds 3 & 4 on the 6th and 7th of August.

“Sunbury Cycling Club / FOJCX believes NCXS plays an important role by providing high-quality domestic racing, preparing riders for the international competition and as a stepping stone to Australia hosting international CX races the future.”

“We look forward to some exciting racing throughout the series, welcoming new riders, and with the support of MTBA, the continued growth of our awesome sport,” said club president Colin Bell.

MTBA CEO Shane Coppin was pleased the organisation and clubs have worked together to ensure a competitive series.

“We have appreciated the patience of the cyclocross community during this challenging time as we have worked towards getting these events up and running for 2016.”

“We look forward to building stronger relationships with CX clubs and riders as we work through the events for 2016 and then begin to plan for the 2017 season, where talks are in place to hopefully establish a UCI Cat 2 listed CX race to Australia and ensure the continued development of the sport,” Coppin said.

The final race of the National series will be held on the 21st August in South Australia by the “Port Adelaide Cycling Club”, who will also hold the 2016 CX National Championships the day prior.

It will be the second time the club has hosted a National Championships, the last in 2014.

Vice President Gemma Kenrich said the club has also held a national series round for the past four years.

“We’ve based our local Focus Crossfire Cup Series around the National calendar and I encourage everyone from SA to take full home ground advantage and get behind Port Adelaide CC’s national events,” said Kenrich.

“With our courses located right in the heart of the CBD in the Adelaide Park Lands it’s one of the easiest races for visitors to get to and close to everything the city has to offer.”


Events Calendar

  1. 2016/2017 Cyclo-Cross National Championships- 20 August & 20 August - Adelaide Park Lands, South Australia

Latest Events News